Something Summery – Soft Serve Mango Pineapple Sorbet

May 5, 2013

I’ve been negligent in terms of cooking over the past couple weeks, as I’ve been very indulgent of my new obsession with acrylic painting. Last weekend I determined it was necessary to add summer, fall, and winter versions of the Spring Aspens painting I did at Whimsy Paint and Sip in Erie, CO, so I really had nothing shareable in the food arena.

Seasonal Aspens

Seasonal Aspens – in no way food-related

This weekend I thought I would finally try to make sorbet in the ice cream maker I got late last year. (Up until now I had only made some semi-successful dairy-related attempts with it.) Mangos came to mind, but I wanted to use something else in addition, so I went with pineapple, figuring that was a nice tropical combination.

Mango and Pineapple

Mango and Pineapple

My research into sorbet turned up a lot of recipes that used some sort of sugar/fruit syrup, but I didn’t plan to use a lot of sweetener since mango and pineapple are already pretty sweet, and wasn’t really in the mood for cooking down a syrup. So I just went with puréed fruit. Most of the recipes I saw, even for pineapple sorbet, used a cup or so of sugar, but I ended up just adding 1/4 cup of erythritol, and even used a little more lemon juice than most recipes called for.

Puréed Mango and Pineapple

Puréed Mango and Pineapple

I put the mix into my ice cream maker, and waited to see how it would turn out. Traditionally, sorbet has a small bit of alcohol added, which prevents it from freezing into a block of fruit ice when stored. But I made this without any alcohol – I already wasn’t following the sugar/fruit syrup convention, so I wasn’t going to stand on ceremony at this point.

Mango Pineapple Sorbet in the Ice Cream Maker

Mango Pineapple Sorbet in the Ice Cream Maker

The ice cream maker determined that my sorbet was finished before it got too terribly solid and frozen (I figured once the sorbet froze in place, leaving it in there wasn’t going to have much (or any) effect). So it was a tad more like soft serve sorbet (that sounds legitimate, doesn’t it?) than traditional sorbet, but it still tasted awesome.

Mango Pineapple Sorbet

Mango Pineapple Sorbet

Soft Serve Mango Pineapple Sorbet
makes 4-6 servings

3 cups fresh pineapple chunks
3 cups fresh mango chunks
2-3 Tbsp lemon juice
1/4 cup erythritol (or sugar)

Purée the pineapple and mango in a food processor until completely liquidy. Add the erythritol or sugar and 2 Tbsp of the lemon juice, and process again. Taste and add additional lemon juice if desired. Then follow the directions for your ice cream maker. The process took about 15 minutes in mine.

Note: If you don’t have an ice cream maker, you can use this recipe to make granita instead. Pour the mixture into a container like a metal baking pan, then freeze for 20 minutes, use a fork to break up the ice crystals and move the frozen parts into the center of the pan, and repeat this process for about an hour and a half.

Feel free to comment!

