Coffee Date Bread

January 18, 2013

I’ve been on kind of a baking spree lately, and decided that maybe a baked item would be a good way to get rid of the surplus of dates I seem to have in my pantry of late. I did a bit of searching, and turned up an intriguing recipe for coffee date bread on allrecipes.com. I’m a coffee fiend, so bread with coffee sounded too good to pass up! The coffee taste was rather subtle in the end product, but it’s a really great tasting bread. I actually made this the same time that I made the oatmeal stout bread in one of my previous posts, and between the two, I couldn’t decide which one I preferred – it was always whichever one I had last.

The original recipe called for 2 Tablespoons of butter and a cup of pecans, so I lightened it up quite a bit. By using applesauce instead of butter and leaving out the cup of pecans I saved about 80 calories and 8 grams of fat per slice of bread, making it low fat, but still delicious!

Coffee Date Bread
adapted from a recipe on allrecipes.com
makes 1 loaf

1 cup pitted dates, chopped
1 cup strong brewed coffee
3 Tbsp applesauce *
1 cup erythritol (or 1+1/4 cup sugar)
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
2+1/4 cup white flour**

* This bread started to dry out after about 5 days, so if you aren’t going to eat it within that time, swap out 1 Tbsp of applesauce for butter or oil (it’s still good at that point though, it just looks a little dry)
** I used 1+1/4 cup King Arthur white whole wheat and 1 cup white

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix ingredients from dates through salt. Add baking soda and baking powder, then add flour in several batches, mixing until all flour is incorporated. Pour into a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan sprayed with cooking spray (or greased). Bake for about 1 hour until a toothpick placed in the center comes out clean. Cool on a cooling rack.

Coffee Date Bread

Coffee Date Bread

2 Responses to “Coffee Date Bread”

  1. colosher Says:

    This sounds really good, Jen!


Feel free to comment!

