Oatmeal Stout Bread

January 11, 2013

After all of the high calorie, high fat feasting during the holiday season, I found myself wanting to make something healthier. And for some reason, the thought of a nice, hearty beer bread kept popping into my head. Fresh bread, low in fat, high in fiber – perfect!

Lots of people make beer bread with cheap beer, but I got stuck on wanting to make one using a stout, so I went to the liquor store and checked out their singles. I ended up getting a Samuel Smith Oatmeal Stout import from England. It worked wonderfully. Maybe next time I’ll try a Guinness or that double chocolate stout I saw, but this one worked so well I may just stick with it.

Oatmeal Stout Bread Ingredients

Oatmeal Stout Bread Ingredients

As part of an experiment to sort of compromise between lower-fat/higher fiber and full fat/nearly no fiber, I went with a small amount of butter and a mix of King Arthur white whole wheat and white flour. I loved the fact that this is a savory bread, but doesn’t require any kneading or rising time before baking. Since this is actually a quick bread, the dough is actually more like batter, and therefore very moist.

Oatmeal Stout Bread Dough (or is it Batter?)

Oatmeal Stout Bread Dough (or is it Batter?)

It’s definitely a rustic looking loaf, with a denser texture than your average white bread, but it has a great, hearty taste. I was worried that it had a bit of a bitter aftertaste, but the more I ate the first slice, the more I loved it. And after cooling it seemed to mellow a bit anyhow. Definitely one to repeat!

Oatmeal Stout Bread
makes 1 loaf

14 oz oatmeal stout (I used Samuel Smith)
2 Tbsp butter, melted
2 Tbsp erythritol (or sugar)
1 tsp salt
1 Tbsp baking powder
3 cups flour*

* I used 1+1/2 cup King Arthur whole wheat white and 1+1/2 cup white

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Combine first five ingredients and mix well. Add the flour in three batches until it is incorporated. Dough will be sticky. Pour dough into a 9 x 5 loaf pan greased or sprayed with cooking spray. Bake for 55-60 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean, and the crust is nice and firm. Remove from pan and cool on a bread rack.

Oatmeal Stout Bread

Oatmeal Stout Bread

Feel free to comment!

