Time for Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

October 27, 2012

Anyone who grew up carving Jack-O’-Lanterns for Halloween has probably had roasted pumpkin seeds at one point or another. What else are you going to do with the guts from your pumpkin? In a rare occurrence, we decided to carve pumpkins this year, and to roast the seeds as well. First, for your viewing pleasure, a blurry portrait of my somewhat dentally challenged Jack-O’-Lantern:

Jack-o-Lantern - Munson Farms Pumpkin

Jack

I decided I wanted to add some pizzazz to my roasted seeds… No – you know what? I don’t really care for that word, pizzazz. Something about it displeases me. What to use instead… How about: I decided to give some character to my roasted seeds, by coating them with spices. There. That’s better.

Washed and De-Pulped Pumpkin Seeds - Munson Farms Pumpkin

Washed and De-Pulped Pumpkin Seeds

We had so many seeds after carving, I decided I could easily make two varieties – one with some spicy, cinnamony flavor, and one with a more savory chile pepper flavor. I ended up baking them nearly a week after we carved, so I had to rehydrate the pulp to remove it, but it came off pretty easily nonetheless. Then I dried the seeds on paper towels to be sure the oil I used would stick, mixed up some spices, and tossed together the seeds, some olive oil and the spices. I roasted them for about half an hour, and they were good to go. They are somewhat high in calories and fat, so I generally only have a bout a 1/4 cup at a time – but that’s a pretty satisfying amount.

Spicy Roasted Pumpkin Seeds - Munson Farms Pumpkin

Spicy Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Spicy Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

1+1/2 cups fresh pumpkin seeds
2-4 tsp olive oil or melted butter
spice blend (choose one from below)

spicy cinnamon blend
3 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp sugar
3/8 tsp cayenne powder
1/4 tsp salt

spicy chile blend
1+1/2 tsp adobo chile powder (I used Savory Spice Shop’s Lodo Red Adobo)
1 tsp ground paprika
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp chipotle powder
1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Wash pumpkin seeds, then remove as much pulp as possible. Pat dry with paper towels. Mix spices together. Toss pumpkin seeds with olive oil or butter, and then add spices, and mix well to coat seeds. Spread on a baking sheet either sprayed with cooking spray or lined with aluminum foil. Bake for 20-40 minutes until toasted, stirring every 10 minutes.

Feel free to comment!

