First Day of the Farmers’ Market!

April 8, 2012

This will be a very short post, but I was so excited that the Boulder Farmers’ Market opened this Saturday, I wanted to post some food pictures. I’ve been looking forward to this week for a month! Of course the produce selection is limited this early in the year, but it was so nice to see all the local farmers again, and to buy some local vegetation. The most prominent items this early are greens, so I bought plenty of those for salads this week. I got some lovely mache, some mixed lettuce and some spinach. It will be great with some nice homemade vinaigrette, which I’ve really gotten into creating lately. (It honestly tastes so much better than the bottled stuff).

Mache

Mache

Mixed Lettuce

Mixed Lettuce

Spinach

Spinach

I couldn’t pass up the gorgeous looking cinnamon cap mushrooms from Hazel Dell, either. They’re just so cute! We have some portobellos left over from the outstanding omelets my husband made this weekend, so I plan to use both types of mushrooms to make some sort of dish with the farro I still have in the pantry.

Hazel Dell Cinnamon Cap Mushrooms

Hazel Dell Cinnamon Cap Mushrooms

I also got some fingerling potatoes, because hey, potatoes! (Yeah, okay, that was weak. But I bought potatoes, the pictures seemed too sparse with just the greens and mushrooms, and I’m lacking in savvy potato prose right now.)

Fingerling Potatoes

Fingerling Potatoes

I also stopped by the Street Fare stand, hoping to pick up a six-pack of mini-cupcakes, but much to my dismay, they had sold out about half an hour earlier! Hopefully the’ll have a larger supply next week, because I’ve had a cupcake craving lately.

I’m definitely looking forward to the market season, and getting more fresh, local, healthy produce into my meals, as well as trying some vegetables I’ve never prepared before. Yum!

3 Responses to “First Day of the Farmers’ Market!”

  1. chefconnie Says:

    Yummy salad greens. I wanted to go to the farmers market but I was baking cakes for the band in a hat concert in Jamestown. Maybe next week. Thanks for posting those lovely photos.


  2. I’m sorry I didn’t see you at opening day. But it seems great minds think alike in many ways – we picked up a 12 pack of Street Fare cupcakes, mixed greens, and some cinnamon cap mushrooms from Hazel Dell.

    We should arrange a farmer’s market meet up.

    Thanks for dropping by my blog! I know I neglected it for too long, but am getting back to it.

    -the redhead-


Feel free to comment!

