Saffron Corn Chowder (or rather, soup) – a Short and Sweet Post

August 25, 2011

The Peaches and Cream sweet corn from Munson Farms has been so extraordinarily tasty over the past few weeks that my husband specifically requested more corn this week. And I happened upon a blog entry from Vert Kitchen for Saffron Corn Chowder, so I definitely had my corn plan for the week.

We met the chef and owner of Vert Kitchen, Noah Stephens, at a HUSH dinner a couple of years ago. He had recently opened Vert, and mentioned it, so when we were down in the Washington Park area sometime later, we stopped by for lunch. We weren’t disappointed. The food was phenomenal, and Noah even remembered us from the dinner, and stopped by to say hi. (Stop in and get the Curry Chicken Salad – I can still remember how it tasted and it’s been at least a year).

Saffron Corn Chowder

I made two modifications to the recipe to make it more lowfat. I used evaporated milk instead of cream, and turkey bacon instead of regular bacon.  And I made one other substitution out of laziness – chicken broth instead of chicken stock.  I felt like it was a bit irreverent to make so many substitutions, but I knew I wouldn’t equal the original, and I like to keep my big dietary splurges for the weekends, so substitute I did. With my evaporated milk usage, the consistency was definitely more soup-like, but the taste was still spectacular. Sweet from the corn, but savory from the broth and bacon. Definitely worth a repeat!

Corn Chowder (Soup) Mid-way

This week kind of wore me out, so this post is quite a bit shorter than I usually like to write. I’ve concluded that the ideal amount of new recipes for me to make in a week is 3, and no more. Work just zaps my energy too much to do one every night, but three a week is a good compromise. That way I’ll have time to really concentrate on what I’m making – and have more time to do a good write-up.

Corn Chowder (Soup) (And yeah, the bacon looks a little fake, but it tasted pretty good!)

Feel free to comment!

