Stunning Side Salads

August 18, 2011

My husband and I have always eaten a lot of salads for dinner. We almost always order them when we eat out, and they figure prominently as a side (alternating with steamed vegetables) to our entrees at home. Up until recently, we had nearly always purchased the prewashed, packaged lettuce, which really is kind of pathetic at times. I have just always been too lazy to wash, dry, and tear fresh lettuce.  But I finally decided that it was worth it, and since I’ve been buying a lot of greens at the Farmers’ Market, it has become a necessity.  So I’ve pulled out the salad spinner, and I just rinse and spin the greens, then roll them in a towel to dry while I prepare everything else. I’ve also started making my own dressing, which really makes all the difference between a salad that’s as good as what you’d get in a restaurant, and one that is pretty much of a let down.

One of the great things about salads is that you can pretty much throw in whatever leftover vegetables you have.  If you’re like me and you seem to buy several more items than you need, it’s a great way to use up extra tomatoes, carrots, beets, and squash.  I also like to mix different kinds of greens together, because it provides a nice contrast of flavors and textures.

So here’s a gallery of all the salads that I’ve made over the past couple months:

Arugula with Carrots, Kohlrabi and Cinnamon Cayenne Almonds

Bloody Mary Salad

Arugula with Beets and Carrots

Field Greens with Zucchini, Yellow Squash, and Carrots

Red Lettuce and Arugula with Heirloom Tomatoes, Carrots, and Pattypan Squash

Baby Russian Red Kale with Tomatoes, Carrots, and Kohlrabi

Sauteed Kale with Beets and Goat Cheese

Mixed Greens with Dill and Nasturtiums

Greens with Fava Beans, Beets, Kohlrabi, Carrots, Tomatoes, and Kohlrabi

Mixed Greens and Arugula with Roasted Beets, Tomatoes and Carrots

Greek Tomato Cucumber Salad

Arugula with Watermelon Radish and Dragon Carrot

Arugula with Watermelon Radish and Dragon Carrot

4 Responses to “Stunning Side Salads”

  1. briarrose Says:

    Beautiful selection of salad. Yummy.


  2. I love salads. The arugula and beet looks really good


Feel free to comment!

