You call this a post?

August 17, 2011

I’ve had several rather low-key, unexciting food days lately. It’s been a long, tiring week at work (even though it’s only Wednesday evening!), and I’ve been having trouble finding inspiration for a new post.  In a way, it didn’t help that I already had leftovers for four meals this week, and we went out to eat on Monday. Great for not having to do too much food labor, but bad for coming up with anything interesting to write.  It’s way too early in my blog career for a clip show (or rather, clip post).  But I did make some interesting purchases today.  I decided to stop after work and take a closer look at the remodeled Whole Foods, and to splurge on a few things that I hadn’t seen before.

Purchases from Whole Foods

I walked through the produce department, browsing through all the great stuff.  I was tempted to buy mushrooms, but didn’t really have a use for them the rest of the week.  But oh, they had some great looking chanterelles, blue foot mushrooms, and of course morels!  The whole $49.99 a pound morel thing is astonishing to me.  When I was a kid, my family would drive down to the river near where we lived, and we would gather morels into paper grocery bags. So we probably came home with what would now be about $200 worth of morels.  Free.  Funny how food trends change. I did however, buy a pepino melon from Ecuador (I know, hardly local…).  According to what I’ve found online, it’s actually more closely related to the nightshade family than melons, and has a taste that is sort of a cross between a cucumber and a honeydew.  (I sometimes shop like I’m playing Let’s Make a Deal – hmmm…I’ll take the vegetable behind door number 3!)

I was out of sherry vinegar, non-bulkish olive oil, and agave, so I replenished both of those. I really don’t know too much about olive oil, so I never know how to pick between the different kinds of EVOO. So I just went with one that was on sale, and looked pretty decent.  The agave (masquerading as honey – it’s actually honey flavored agave) was at terrific sale price – nearly half off the others available.  I got some guacamole made in-store, which turned out to be fantastic, with a little heat.  During my tour of Whole Foods this past weekend, our guide mentioned a new line of products from Falafel King in Boulder (a huge favorite of mine), called Life is Sababa.  There are several types of hummus as well as tzatziki sauce, all made without oil, so they’re lower in calories and fat than the traditional types.  I got some hummus with roasted eggplant to try.

Dried cherries are always expensive, so so when I saw a bag that were significantly discounted, I grabbed them.  In the bulk department I found blue posole  (me and color, you know)!  At our farm dinner at Red Wagon Farms earlier this summer, a couple of people were telling us that they had been preparing wheat berries, and really liked them.  I’ve wanted to try it for a while, but never got around to getting any.  They have such a huge selection of bulk things now, I found some soft spring wheat (in contrast to hard winter wheat), and can’t wait to try it.  And then I got some Endangered Species brand chocolate in two varieties I’ve never seen before – dark chocolate with goji berry, pecans & maca and dark chocolate with cacao nibs, yacon & açaí.  I’m familiar with goji berries and açaí after the recent wave of super-fruit popularity in the US.  But maca and yacon I hadn’t even heard of.  So I went to Wikipedia to find out what I had purchased (door number 2!).  Maca is a Peruvian/Bolivian root with a sweet and slightly bitter taste, and yaca is a Peruvian tuber which is supposed to taste similar to jicama with some floral overtones. My husband and I tried a small bit of both, and the one with yaca is awesome!

Good thing I’m out of leftovers after this week, so I’ll have plenty of blank slate for cooking next week!

2 Responses to “You call this a post?”


  1. I’ve recently been doing some research on olive oil and have had the same problems! I want to buy the highest quality I can without breaking the bank. Although I did learn to not buy it in such large quantities (I use EVOO a good bit). I thought it had a neverending shelf life. But then I read about its rancidity and that it loses it’s nutritional qualities. Oh the things you can learn on the Internet… :)


    • Yeah, isn’t that crazy? I had always thought oil lasted forever! (Well, there were a lot of things I thought lasted forever that don’t really). I use olive oil in just about all my cooking now – although I use avocado oil for mushrooms since it has a higher smoke point. I love how you can saute a pan of something in just a tsp of olive oil, and it still tastes great!


Feel free to comment!

