Rustic Tart with Summer Squash (well, mine was Primitive at best, perhaps Paleolithic)

August 1, 2011

Tonight I made a Rustic Tart I found on the blog A Fork in Each Hand, with a link to the recipe on Woman’s Day.  The picture of the tart on A Fork in Each Hand is absolutely gorgeous.  I didn’t really have hopes that I would equal it in looks, but was hoping to do so in taste, nonetheless. As it turned out, my version of this tart didn’t really look rustic so much as primitive. Or perhaps paleolithic. Due to a lapse in the ability to read directions and some confusion with looking at two different recipes, I thought I needed to use a pie pan, then completely forgot that we HAD a pie pan, and used a casserole dish instead. Oh well – it worked fine. And the taste? Right on!

Blatantly disregarding my more than predictable sluggish and ever so slightly peevish mood after a Monday at work, I decided during my weekly meal planning that I would make my own pie crust.  Good plan!  Since one of my main goals is always to cut down on higher fat recipes, I found a recipe for a low(er) fat pie crust, and then additionally used Land O Lakes Light Butter instead of full-fat butter.  I also used 1/2 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of sugar instead of the 1+1/2 tsp of sugar the recipe called for, since this is a savory tart, not a sweet pie.

Now, my mom can make a pie crust like nobody’s business. They are always lovely and flaky, and tasty.  I’m not entirely sure I inherited the innate talent to make lovely looking pie crusts. I took the instruction ‘roll the dough into a 12 inch round’ as more of a suggestion, and rolled out a 12 inch blob. Yeah, I could have rolled it out a bit more and trimmed it, but it was at this point that I was strongly lamenting my decision not to just buy a pre-made crust.

12 inch pie crust blob

I was actually very pleased with how the crust tasted, but of course it wasn’t quite as light as your standard crust.  If you want a perfectly flaky, light crust, you’re going to have to go with more fat.  But I kind of liked the denser shell texture for this application.

For the vegetables in the tart, I used yellow squash, zucchini, pattypan squash, and some round light green summer squash that I got at the Boulder Farmers’ Market.  I asked the guy what kind it was, and he told me, but it apparently went in one ear and out the other.  Since I wasn’t familiar with that type of squash, and the skin seemed a bit thicker than the others, I peeled that one, but left the skin on all the rest.

Zucchini, Yellow, Pattypan, and Unidentified Squash

Since the squash were largely different shapes, I tried to cut all of them into pieces roughly the same size. These four squash were much more than 1 lb all together, so I just got out my scale, and cut 4 oz of each one.

Cut Squash

I also used an orange bell pepper from the Farmers’ Market, which I roasted on the grill. I cut it into 8 pieces, grilled them skin down for about 8 minutes, then flipped them and grilled for another 4 minutes. Once the pieces had cooled, I peeled off the charred skin, and cut the resulting pepper pieces into strips. I also used two small purple onions that I had left over from the Farmers’ Market the previous week, and a tomato and some chives I bought this week (about 1+1/2 Tbsp of the chives, chopped). For cheese, I followed the substitution suggestion on A Fork in Each Hand of using reduced fat feta and used Athenos brand, which is a favorite of ours.

The original recipe on Woman’s Day has 108 grams of fat for the whole tart. With the changes I made, the entire tart has just about 50 grams of fat. And it really tasted quite lovely. I probably could have let it go a little longer in the oven, but the vegetables were pretty much done, and we were hungry, so we went with it as is.

Paleolithic Tart

Feel free to comment!

