Farmers’ Market Saturday – 7/23

July 23, 2011

It was another day of great finds at the Boulder Farmers’ Market.  I had to smile at the ‘so Boulder’ moment on my way there – I was on foot at a drive-through ATM when a couple on foot came up to wait behind me, and a guy on a bike was in the drive-up secure deposit lane.  Three transactions in the drive-through, zero cars!

Once I got to the market, I was excited to see that Munson Farms had sweet corn! I got some beautiful fava beans and green and yellow string beans from Cure Organic Farm, yellow beets, multi-colored carrots and cilantro from Red Wagon Organic Farm, purple potatoes, tomatoes and a red bell pepper from 2 R’s Farm, arugula from ¡Cultiva!, apple mint from Far Out Gardens, Supreme Orzo from Pappardelle’s Pasta and a six-pack of mini-cupcakes from Street Fare.  I rounded out my purchases with some purple onions, purple kohlrabi, basil, flat parsley, shiitake mushrooms, yellow squash, and two kinds of garlic.

I’ve been wanting to make a market salad for a few weeks, but was waiting until corn was available. So, today is the day! I have been making market salad for years – inspired by a chopped market salad at One Market Restaurant, a couple of blocks from the Ferry Building in San Francisco. My market salads change often, based on what’s available. In the summer, it’s all fresh and local.  But I also make a version in the winter, and it’s a nice, quick dinner on days when I’m exhausted from work and don’t feel like doing much preparation. Today I used arugula for the greens, fava beans for protein, grilled corn, and an array of fresh vegetables to add some crunch. I also made a lovely champagne vinaigrette from a recipe on epicurious  (I made a half recipe and used 3 Tbsp of olive oil instead of 4Tbsp – and we will get at least 4 servings out of it).  It really is hard to top fresh salad dressing, and it doesn’t take that long to make, either.  I just used a small fork and beat the dressing as I added the oil in a thin stream, and it seemed to emulsify fine with that technique.

I would suggest cutting the vegetables larger than they are in the picture after the recipe – they were a bit too small (I attempted to do matchsticks with the carrots and kohlrabi, but my matchsticks always end up looking a bit more like bricks). Since this is all fresh produce, you want the items large enough that you can taste them individually, and the size I used made them blend together too much.

Market Salad Ingredients

In the winter, I use romaine and chop it into ribbons for the greens, and I use edamame (immature soy beans), and frozen corn.  You can buy the edamame frozen and already shelled, and they really are very tasty.  One of the best prepared dressings that we have come upon is Annie’s Tuscany Italian Dressing, which goes wonderfully with this kind of salad.  I have also used our other favorite prepared dressing, Marie’s Lite Chunky Blue Cheese, and that works nicely as well.


Chopped Market Salad
serves 2

Summer Version

your choice of local greens
1/2 cup fava beans, removed from the pods, blanched, then peeled
2-3 ears grilled corn, kernels cut from the cob
3 small carrots, chopped
1 grilled beet, chopped
1 small kohlrabi, peeled and chopped
2 scallions, chopped
1-2 tomatoes, chopped
Champaigne Vinaigrette (or your choice of dressing)
Freshly ground pepper

Market Salad

Winter Version

romaine lettuce, cut into ribbons
1 cup frozen shelled edamame, defrosted
1 cup frozen corn, defrosted
2 stalks celery, chopped
1 handful of baby carrots, chopped
1/2 red or orange bell pepper, chopped
2 green onions, chopped
1-2 tomatoes, chopped
Vinaigrette dressing (or your choice)
Freshly ground pepper

2 Responses to “Farmers’ Market Saturday – 7/23”


  1. Thanks for sharing this recipe today! I enjoy reading your blog post very much thanks again!

  2. Karen Says:

    Farmers markets are wonderful. So much available right now.


Feel free to comment!

