Farmers’ Market Salad and Chipotle Lime Pasta with Black Beans, Tomatoes, and Guacamole

July 12, 2011

I’ve really gotten into Pappardelle’s Pasta from the Boulder Farmers’ Market.  Since there are so many varieties, I can get a different kind each week, and it doesn’t seem like I’m overdoing the pasta theme.  Plus pasta is fairly quick to cook on weeknights.  And now that more and more vegetables are becoming available at the Farmers’ Market, it’s easy to make some great colorful salads.

I got Gluten-Free Chipotle Lime Small Trumpet pasta this week.  Neither my husband nor I are gluten-intolerant, but I’ve had two of the gluten free varieties now, and I honestly can’t tell a difference in the least.  Since pasta and beans are a fairly common Italian dish (Pasta e Fagioli), I thought ‘why not do it with a southwestern theme?’.  So I decided to pair the pasta with some black beans for protein.  I’ve been really pleased with the tomato sauces I’ve been making from fresh tomatoes, just letting them cook until they turn liquid and then thicken, so planned to use that method for this sauce as well.  I also used my Miguel and Valentino Smoked Extra Virgin Olive Oil, since I am loving it so much these days.  I still had 2 purple scallions, and one stalk of garlic left, so used them for the garlic and onion components.  And just to make the dish really rich tasting (but still healthy), I thought I’d add some of the rockin’ Wholly Guacamole that we bought this past week.


So – first, a nice fresh salad with ingredients from this week’s Farmers’ Market.  I used the wild arugula left over from Saturday, some baby red kale, kohlrabi, carrots, and a tomato.  Baby red kale is a pretty substantial green that I would normally cook like ‘grown-up’ kale, but I planned to just throw about 8 raw leaves on each salad, so it wouldn’t be too much.   I peeled the kohlrabi and then cut it into thick matchsticks, and just cut the ends off of the carrots and then cut them lengthwise into little spears.  I seeded and chopped the tomato.  This combination went great with our favorite prepared vinaigrette, Annie’s Tuscany Italian dressing.

Salad Ingredients

Farmers' Market Salad


Then on to making the pasta.  Important Note:  DON’T forget about the cilantro!  I seem to have a recurring bad habit of washing cilantro for my dishes, and then forgetting to put it on and the end.  It makes such a great finishing touch, I was quite bummed that I forgot it on the final dish! Fortunately, I only used half of the pasta I bought, so I’ll redo it next week with cilantro!

Pasta Ingredients

Chipotle Lime Pasta with Black Beans, Tomatoes, and Guacamole

serves 2-3

4 oz Pappardelle’s Gluten Free Chipotle Lime Small Trumpet pasta
1/2 to 1 can  of black beans
2 tomatoes, seeded and chopped
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
2-3 scallions or green onions, minced (use the greens if you’d like, just add them 1 minute after the bulb parts)
1 small bunch cilantro, finely chopped
2 tsp olive oil (smoked if you have it)
3 – 4.5 Tbsp guacamole
1 tsp cumin
salt and pepper

Chop and mince all of the vegetables (you can wait on the cilantro until the last minute so it doesn’t oxidize, but if you’re like me, chop it now, and leave it sitting somewhere obvious so you don’t forget it!)

Add the pasta to salted boiling water, and set a timer for 14 minutes to check it.  Heat the olive oil in a non-stick pan over medium heat.  Once the oil is hot, add the garlic cloves and scallions, and saute until translucent.  Add the tomatoes, cumin, and salt and pepper to taste, and continue to cook until the tomatoes break down, turn liquidy, and then start to thicken, about 10 minutes.  Add the black beans to the sauce, and heat through.  If the sauce is done before the pasta, just turn the heat down to simmer.

Drain the pasta, put it in bowls, then add the sauce.  Top each bowl with 1.5 to 2 Tbsp guacamole, and the cilantro.

Chipotle Lime Pasta

Feel free to comment!

