Farmers’ Market Saturday – 6/25

June 25, 2011

I went a little overboard at the Farmers’ Market today.  I had the idea that I wanted to make pickles this week, so I was on the lookout for turnips, radishes and cucumber, but there were a lot of other things that caught my eye as well. And there were still garlic scapes. You do not neglect to buy garlic scapes if they are present at the market.  I ended up bringing home spring garlic, garlic scapes, a mixed bag of mushrooms, Chinese turnips, radishes, tomatoes, cilantro, parsley, arugula, mixed greens, basil, chocolate mint and nasturtiums.   I also got some prepared/packaged items — Righteous Cinnamon Cayenne Almonds from Olomomo Nut Company, Tunisian Harissa fettuccini from Pappardelle’s, and 6 mini cupcakes from Street Fare.

This week's produce from the Farmers' Market

The turnips and radishes went into some spicy-sweet refrigerator pickles, which I’ll post about later (assuming they turn out well, that is!).  One of the tomatoes and some basil went into a nice Insalata Caprese for lunch.  For dinner, we had salad and pasta, and used quite a bit of what I brought home.

I made a really nice green salad that I’ve been doing the past few weeks.  I have been mixing baby lettuce, spinach, arugula, baby red chard,  and dill sprigs, and dressing it with balsamic vinaigrette (Annie’s Tuscany Italian Dressing).  This week, since they had nasturtiums (which are edible if grown for that purpose), I decided to put some on the salad.  They have a slightly sweet, peppery taste, and personally, I prefer them in smaller doses, so I used individual petals instead of the whole flowers in the salad.

Salad with mixed greens and nasturtiums

For the Tunisian Harissa fettuccini, Pappardelle’s website suggests using a simple olive oil or butter sauce so the flavor of the pasta comes out.  Most recipes that I find online for olive oil and garlic sauce indicate that you should use 1/2 cup of olive oil for 1 lb of pasta.  But I like to keep things a lot lower fat than that, and find that too much oil actually interferes with other flavors in the dish. Continuing with my ‘alternatives to traditional garlic’ theme of the past few weeks, I decided to use spring garlic for that component. Like garlic scapes and green garlic, spring garlic is milder than regular, common garlic.  You can use a stalk of green garlic in place of one or two cloves of regular garlic.  I removed the outer layer of the spring garlic, and chopped a bit off of the root end of the bulb.  I didn’t use the stems, although you definitely can use them.


Tunisian Harissa Fettuccini with Spring Garlic
and Olive Oil
serves 2

4 oz Tunisian Harissa Fettucini
2 spring garlic bulbs, minced
2 Tbsp parsley, finely chopped
1 Tbsp basil, finely chopped
3 tsp olive oil, divided
pecorino romano (or parmesan)
salt and pepper to taste

Mince garlic and chop parsley and basil.  Start cooking pasta in salted, boiling water (8-10 minutes, check at 8).  While the pasta is cooking, sauté  garlic in 1 tsp olive oil, stirring frequently.   Cook until garlic just starts to turn golden (don’t brown it), about 2 minutes  When pasta is ready, drain and put back into the pan.  Reduce heat to low, and add 2 tsp olive oil, basil, and parsley.  Stir until pasta is evenly coated, then add some grated pecorino romano, stir again, and salt and pepper to taste.

Tunisian Harissa Fettucini with Spring Garlic and Olive Oil

Feel free to comment!

