Mid-week Pasta with Farmers’ Market Ingredients

June 22, 2011

Once I make it past Monday, I like to make something for dinner at least once during the week that takes a little preparation.  I discovered Cubano Orzo from Pappardelle’s (my new favorite pasta supplier) at the Farmers’ Market a couple of weeks ago, and my husband and I liked it so much, I decided a repeat was in order.  Orzo is a rice shaped pasta, and this one has four different flavors: Black Bean, Cilantro Lime, Plain Semolina, & Sweet Red Pepper.  I used a modified version of the recipe for this particular type of orzo on their site.   Barring the corn, which isn’t in season yet, all of the produce I used was from the Boulder Farmers’ Market.

While garlic scapes and green garlic are in season, I’ve been experimenting with using them in place of regular garlic.  They are both milder than regular garlic.  Garlic scapes are kind of like a green-bean shaped vegetable with a slightly garlicky flavor, while green garlic is kind of like green onions with a garlicky flavor.  Garlic scapes are without a doubt best brushed with olive oil and grilled, but I use them in recipes as well.  Onion scapes were new to me this year – they are somewhat similar to green onions.

Whenever we have a recipe that calls for parmesan, my husband and I use pecorino romano instead.  It’s a bit sharper tasting, but is pretty much identical in form – we just grate a bit off of the brick of it we keep in the fridge.

Cubano Orzo with Tomatoes and Corn

4 oz Pappardelle’s Cubano Orzo
1 tsp. olive oil
6 garlic scapes (or 3 stalks green garlic or 1-2 cloves of garlic)
1-2 onion scape or green onions, chopped
2 ears grilled corn, cut off the cob
2 tomatoes, chopped
12 basil leaves, chopped
1/4 -1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
several sprinkles of cayenne
salt and pepper to taste
grated pecorino romano (or parmesan)

1. Cook pasta in a pot of rapidly boiling salted water until al dente (about 8-10 minutes according to their site – it took 11 minutes for me at altitude). Drain and rinse.

2. Heat oil in large skillet on medium heat, and then saute garlic and onion for 2-3 minutes, stirring frequently.

3. Add the tomatoes, the cayenne, and salt and pepper, turn up to medium-high heat, and cook until the tomatoes break down and form a ‘rough’ sauce (about 7-10 minutes)

4. Add corn, salt, pepper, orzo, cilantro, and basil and heat through

5. Top with grated pecorino romano

Ingredients, with unintentional soft focus

Cubano Orzo with Tomatoes and Corn

4 Responses to “Mid-week Pasta with Farmers’ Market Ingredients”

  1. Angela FRS Says:

    I haven’t tried their orzo, but I adore their porcini pappardelle when I can get there early enough to snag some. This looks great!

  2. Tracy Says:

    Your recipe calls for “4 oz lbs” of orzo. Is that 4 oz, or 1 lb pkg? Recipe looks great…will definitely try it! Thanks.

  3. Jenny Says:

    Looks like we have something in common! :) http://www.pastaartistica.blogspot.com/


Feel free to comment!

